Confused about axle bearings ???

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Confused about axle bearings ???

Confused about axle bearings ???

Ok i posted before about this, The old man had new bearings done two yrs ago, they all feel solid except my front left axle is sliding in and out about an inch,i have been trying to figure this out, admittedly I'm no expert , but if the axle bearing is shot dont the axles have up & down (or side to side) play ? Mine do not, My one axle has no play except for slides in and out, almost like the sprocket is supposed to stop it from pulling out but it's not secured in the right place... Please keep in mind I've never done bearings and seals so I have no clue what im looking at..
    "I've yet to encounter a problem that cannot be solved with the right mixture of whiskey and weaponry"
    :ME....

" From my cold dead hands"
    :Charlton Heston...

Sound like your thrust bolt is very loose, it is located in the inboard end of your axle.

i have no thrust bolts in my axles so i doubt that is the problem. maybe the setscrew that hold the bearings on the axle may need tightning. there is two little screws on the collar of each bearing that hold it onto the axle so it dont slip! check those with an allen key