Which was faster: a 440 thunderchief or 500 superchief?

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Which was faster: a 440 thunderchief or 500 superchief?

Which was faster: a 440 thunderchief or 500 superchief?

Alway been curious which one was faster. I have no experience at all with a 440 thunderchief. I've owned both a 400 chief and a superchief.

I am curious in a drag race which would win? Do the twin carbs out run the bigger cc's? Of course I am talking about factory stock machines.

Please chime in.
    Keep the Rubber Side Down

If the 440 Thunderchief had a JLO 5 port 440 with the dual carbs (aka Cuyuna 6 bolt head 440) it would take the stock Superchief, but since the 440 Thunderchiefs didn't come with the 5 port 440, the 500 Superchief is the winner.
    "Looks like you have a problem with your 4 wheeler........you're missin' two wheels there"

"If the 440 Thunderchief had a JLO 5 port 440 with the dual carbs (aka Cuyuna 6 bolt head 440) it would take the stock Superchief"

Are we sure of this, JP?
    Stuck in the seventies- not in the swamp.

(6) Attex, a Hustler, a Super Swamp Fox, (2) Tricarts, (3) Tri-sports, a Sno-co trike, 3 Dunecycles, and a Starcraft! ...so far

Quote Originally Posted by Don View Post
    "If the 440 Thunderchief had a JLO 5 port 440 with the dual carbs (aka Cuyuna 6 bolt head 440) it would take the stock Superchief"