electric fuel pump?

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: electric fuel pump?

electric fuel pump?

First of all-sorry for starting so many threads guys. I'm new to the AATV sport and bursting with questions. Maybe it's better to keep posting all my questions in one thread-dunno.

Anyway, my Hustler has had an electric fuel pump added (I assume its not factory equip). It's wired to the ignition switch so that whenever the key is on, it runs. I don't like that cause I can't work on amything else that requires key on without disconnecting the pump. I'm thinking about putting a switch on the dash to power pump on/off without key on.
    Also wondering about how this engine (18HP twin cyl Briggs) handles electric pump as fuel supply without any regulator. I've not driven it a lot, but it seems to run Ok this way and has no issues so far.

Have any of you guys been down this road before? Love to pick everyone's brain and take advantage of previous experience.

Well with regards to the switch, leave it wired to the on position and install a separate switch to turn it on and off. That way no matter what, the pump will turn off when you turn off the engine. You probably don't want the pump running while the engine is off and it would suck if you forgot to hit the switch to off and walked away while the pump is draining your battery.