Newbie needs help - Locked motor?

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Newbie needs help - Locked motor?

Newbie needs help - Locked motor?

Hey guys. Like the title says, I'm new to amphibs. I have a 1996 Max IV with the 18hp Briggs Vanguard V Twin. I bought it used a couple of weeks ago from NC. I played around a little for a couple of hours when I got it home and it ran great. Today I took it to my buddy's place who has a lot of land to just get myself used to the way it works. It ran perfectly for a few hours with me getting more and more comfortable with it as I went. Finally after really getting it going for a few minutes, I heard a loud rattling sound coming from the motor and it died. I immediately tried to start it again but just a click. It wouldn't even offer to turn over. My buddy towed me back to his garage and we looked at the motor. It's locked up bigger than crap. The pull start won't budge. We took the plugs out hoping it would free up but no luck. I'm puzzled. It had a fresh oil change so it's not low on oil. Any advice or suggestions? If this problem has already been discussed somewhere else, I apologize. If so could someone direct me to the thread? Thanks for your time. I just need to know which direction I should take.
    The wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are bold as a lion. Proverbs 28:1