16 HP Tecumseh rebuild tips (hot rodding)

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 16 HP Tecumseh rebuild tips (hot rodding)

16 HP Tecumseh rebuild tips (hot rodding)

I am not a great small engine guy, but I have some training and experience with old american engines, and I have a few hot rod tips that I am pretty comfortable with.
    What can I get away with on this 16hp OH160. Some thoughts I had:
    Will it overbore to a OH180 piston?
    Oversize valves?
    Super stiff valve springs?
    Windage tray do any good?
    How about a little port and polish on the head?
    I am not experienced with small engines, and I don't want to change it to the point where I am screw it up and it won't act right.
    What are the top ways to get performance out of these little buggers without sacrificing service length?
    Also, looking high and low for an OH180. Anyone ever have one in an argo? I can't afford to repower, so I want to do what I can with what I have
    Got all the pins out, and going to bolts in the axles, BTW, and I got a little electrical conduit to rework the cover. She will be ready to bust up some Caribou

No tecumseh rebuilders out there?

Well not much spare parts for the TEC anyway.