JLO 295 Flywheel removal.

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: JLO 295 Flywheel removal.

JLO 295 Flywheel removal.

OK, First off, I am not a noob mechanic, I have rebuilt pleanty of engine, from R/C cars to weedwackers, lawnmowers, on up to large outboards and car/truck engines. But I can't, for the life of me, get the flywheel off this NEW JLO L295. I ran the nut to the end of the shaft, and tried driving it off with quick hammer blows (Being carefull to not damage shaft, nut or flywheel) I put a puller on the flywheel, and tried pulling it. I then pulled on the flywheel while driving down on the puller center bolt, cranked down as hard as possible, holding the engine up by the flywheel while SMASHING down on the center puller bolt, prying up on each side against the ring gear ans hard as I dare with the aluminum case on opposite sides of the flywheel, constantly rotating and re-prying, smashing the center while lifting, re-torquing puller. I have pulled flywheels off rusty junker truck engines and off old 4-cylinder outboards, I have NEVER had anywhere close to this much trouble on anything, ever, honestly. This motor was purchased by the previous owner new, never used. There is no corrosion on it anlywhere except the exaust header. The keyway is aligned, flywheel and shaft, it's not pinched off to one side AT ALL!! I have smashed the flywheel puller center