70's Argo 8x8 drive belt

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 70's Argo 8x8 drive belt

Angry 70's Argo 8x8 drive belt

Hi everyone I'm new to 6x6 world an I'm hoping for some help? I recently purchased an old early 70's Argo. It has no chassis plates an was in a bit of a state, howerver it does have 80% original parts, just the firewall and engine have been removed. It's been replaced with a 13hp Honda gx390 electric start.my problem is I don't know how the belt should be sat on the engine clutch an gearbox clutch at rest when fitting? I used the old mounts ,an placed the new 125-25 belt from Richard Walsh over the gear box pulley (not open,just resting over it) then the belt was around 1 an a half inches past the engine clutch pulley an chewed the belt after about 2-3 hours it worked great but then once it got to thin it tried to drop down onto the actual pulley shaft which drops engine power then just slips? Hope I'm making sense to all of u guys. Best wishes simon