T20 Adjustment Question (or, does this look normal to you?)

1. Welcome to 6x6 World.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Looking forward to seeing you in the forums and talking about AATVs!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: T20 Adjustment Question (or, does this look normal to you?)

T20 Adjustment Question (or, does this look normal to you?)

Hi. I've been reading this forum for a few weeks now and have learned a lot, but I am new to anything with 6 wheels. I recently picked up a used Max IV, and have started to go through it. It seems to drive normally, except the laterals are not even. The left one is a few inches behind the right. That led me to pull the engine and have a closer look at the transmission. It now seems like the uneven-ness is due to slack on the right side (they seem to be "adjusted" to the same position up front where the tie rods connect, but there is slack int he right U channel). Once the slack is taken up they seem to have the same travel- about 6" Anyway, my question has to do with the pictures below. The left side top plunger is much further out of the case than the right. What could this mean? The bottom plungers are about even.
    This first one is with the laterals in the normal spring-loaded forward position. I should mention I removed the pin on the left side (right in the picture) to try turning that bolt- it isn't missing.
    image1.jpg

This one is of them pulled back, I think. I took this picture last week.
    image2.jpg